Are you packing up your belongings and getting ready to move to a new state? If so, traffic tickets are likely the last thing on your mind right now. However, if you aren't careful during and after your move, you could put yourself at risk of getting pulled over for a traffic violation. Read on for 3 violations to be wary of during your relocation to a new state.
Obstruction Of License Plate
If you're moving from an area that has a calm climate to a dusty western state or a state that gets heavy snowfall, it's time to start thinking more about your license plate. Both dust and snow can settle on the bumper of your car, covering up your license place and obscuring the information on it. And in some states, if a police officer happens upon your vehicle while it's driving down the road and he or she can't clearly read all of the information on your license plate, they can issue you a ticket.
If the location you're moving to has a climate different than the one you're used to, get in the habit of checking your plate regularly to make sure your tag number can be clearly seen.
Rear Plate Only
In 19 states, drivers are only required to have a rear license plate on their vehicles. In the other 31 states plus Washington D.C., however, 2 license plates are required per vehicle -- one on the back and one on the front. If you're moving from a state that only requires a back plate to a state that requires 2 plates, you've only got a certain amount of time to get that front plate mounted on your car before you can be fined by the police for driving a vehicle with a missing plate. That length of time, as well as the amount you can be fined varies by state.
As soon as you arrive at your new location, contact the Department of Motor Vehicles to begin the process of getting your plates transferred to your new state. They'll send you both plates you need, but your vehicle may not have a front plate mount. Stop by the auto parts store as soon as possible for some license plate brackets so you can get both the back and front plates on your car as soon as they arrive in the mail.
If you're thinking of forgoing a moving truck and instead just packing as many of your belongings as you can into your vehicle when moving to a new state, you should probably reconsider. Most states have laws that prohibit drivers from placing anything in their vehicles that inhibits their view through the windshield, and some states also prohibit the obstruction of view through side windows.
Fine amounts for this offense vary by state, but they typically fall in the range of $50 to $100. If you're warned by a police officer to clear your view and you happen to get caught again with stuff piled up in your car and obscuring your view, the punishment may become more severe. In California, for example, drivers who are warned to clear their view but get caught again with their view obscured face fines of up to $1000 and jail time.
When traveling to your new destination, avoid getting nailed with an obstruction of view ticket by making arrangements to have any large objects you're taking with you delivered by truck or shipped to your new location.
If you're moving to a new state, the last thing you need is to be greeted by that state with a host of traffic tickets and fines. Be wary of the above 3 traffic violations during and after your move, and if you do find yourself in traffic court, make sure you have a reputable traffic law attorney to help you build a solid defense.
Contact a traffic law attorney for additional info.Share